Product no.: 010
Your price: €17.00
Hannes Buder - Changes II (LP)
With this solo Vinyl album, guitarist Hannes Buder continues his collaboration with Umlaut Records after the 2013 duo release "[ro]" with Hannes Lingens. The music finds its counterpart in the strangely beautiful cover art contributed once again by Michal Fuchs.
It's been almost a decade since Buder's self released solo CD "openyoureyescloseyoureyes". In these ten years the Berlin based musician performed a few hundred solo shows around the globe, collaborated with a long list of improvisors, composed for both large and small ensembles and released several CDs with different bands and projects. 
Many of these influences found their way into the music documented on this album. The disc features compositions and improvisations by the guitarist himself alongside a collection of lesser known German Folk songs, which reveal themselves as abstract bits of Blues in Buder's hands. 
Seemingly simple in its appearance, the music unfolds a stunning complexity the deeper you listen: Although most of these pieces were recorded in one take without overdubs, the work is the result of a long search, a process of trial and error until conditions were satisfied for a clear and deeply felt statement. 
To make his point, Buder utilizes a diverse array of means: not only does he treat his 1950s Herbert Wurlitzer guitar with cello bow, effects and preperations, he also makes use of a flute an old pump organ.
In its plain honesty, its clarity and matureness, this recording recalls the great solo guitar albums of John Fahey, Fred Frith, Derek Bailey, Loren Connors et al. We are witnessing an artists dialogue with his instrument, he himself being as much a listener as we are. In the intimacy of this conversation, the music gets to us unfiltered, pure.
Hannes Lingens, January 2015
01 changes II (for eugen drewermann)
02 ich hab die nacht geträumet
03 heidenröslein
04 requiem for alexander litvinenko
05 ocean #1
06 bird drone (for henry flynt)
07 es ist ein schnitter, heisst der tod
08 improvisation #4
09 ocean #2
10 es flog ein kleins waldvögelein 
Hannes Buder - archtop guitar, pump organ, wooden flute
1, 4, 5, 6, 8 and 9 composed/improvised by buder; 2, 3, 7 and 10 are traditional german folk songs
recorded january-september 2014 in berlin at studio börne (track 2) and buder's place
artwork: Michal Fuchs (michalfuchs.com)